NuvioLife
← Back to the Blog
Compliance

Small Business Tax Benefits in Canada: The Levers an Owner Actually Controls

Small Business Tax Benefits in Canada: The Levers an Owner Actually Controls

Canadian small business tax planning is narrower than it looks. An owner-operator controls four things: the rate the corporation pays, what counts as a deductible expense, when that deduction lands, and the form in which employees get paid. Everything else — bracket thresholds, credit rates, the CPP ceiling — is set in Ottawa and the provincial capitals and arrives as a fact of life.

This article walks each lever with the statutory sources attached, and ends with a worked example comparing a raise against a Health Spending Account allocation for an eight-person corporation. It is general information about how the rules operate, not tax advice. Compensation design has knock-on effects across payroll, corporate tax, and shareholder planning, so run any change past your accountant first.

The Small Business Deduction Sets Your Rate

For a Canadian-controlled private corporation, the single largest tax benefit is the small business deduction under section 125 of the Income Tax Act. It cuts the federal rate on active business income from 15% to 9% — a six-point difference — on the first $500,000 of active business income, the business limit.

Two grinds erode that limit and both catch growing companies by surprise.

The taxable capital grind reduces the business limit once the corporation and its associated corporations hold more than $15 million in taxable capital employed in Canada, and eliminates it entirely at $75 million. Those thresholds rose from $10 million and $50 million for tax years beginning on or after 16 December 2024.

The passive income grind reduces the business limit by $5 for every $1 of adjusted aggregate investment income above $50,000 in the previous year, so a corporation earning $150,000 of passive income has no small business deduction left. Owners who park retained earnings in an investment portfolio inside the operating company tend to discover this after the fact.

Provinces stack their own rate on top. Ontario's is 3.2%, giving a combined small business rate of 12.2% against a combined general rate of 26.5%. That 12.2% is what makes deductions worth less than owners expect: a dollar of deductible expense saves 12.2 cents of corporate tax, not 26.5, and not 40.

Deductibility Starts With One Sentence

Paragraph 18(1)(a) of the Income Tax Act allows a deduction only for outlays made to earn income from a business or property, and 18(1)(h) blocks personal or living expenses. Almost every deductibility question an owner-operator has is a fight over which side of that line an expense sits on.

Employee compensation sits squarely on the deductible side: salary, bonuses, employer CPP and EI, employer-paid premiums to a private health services plan, reimbursements under one, and the fees charged to administer those plans. Reasonableness under section 67 is the practical limit. A $200,000 salary paid to a spouse who does no work in the business will be denied; a market-rate salary for real work is fine.

Capital and R&D Are Timing Levers, Not Rate Levers

Equipment, vehicles, computers, and leasehold improvements are not deducted in the year of purchase. They enter a capital cost allowance class and are written off at that class's rate, subject to the half-year rule on acquisition. Accelerated and immediate-expensing measures have come and gone with successive federal budgets, so check the current CCA rules for the year you are filing.

Scientific Research and Experimental Development credits are the other timing lever, and the only one that pays cash back. Most CCPCs earn a refundable investment tax credit at 35% on qualified SR&ED expenditures up to an annual expenditure limit, raised to $6 million with a phase-out range of $15 million to $75 million of taxable capital by Bill C-15, which received Royal Assent on 26 March 2026. Salaries of staff doing eligible development work are the largest component of most claims, which is why the compensation and R&D levers tend to move together.

Why Health Benefits Beat Salary Dollar for Dollar

Salary and a health benefit are both deductible to the corporation, but they are not equivalent to the employee. That asymmetry is the most underused tax benefit available to a Canadian small business.

Paragraph 6(1)(a) of the Income Tax Act sweeps "benefits of any kind whatever" into employment income, then carves out an exception for employer contributions to a private health services plan. A Health Spending Account is a PHSP — CRA sets the conditions on its private health services plan page, and Interpretation Bulletin IT-339R2 sets out what makes an arrangement a plan of insurance rather than a bare promise to reimburse.

When a plan qualifies, the reimbursement is deductible to the corporation, excluded from the employee's income, and not reported on the T4. It also never touches payroll: HSA reimbursements are neither pensionable nor insurable, so no CPP or EI is owed on either side. Our CRA health spending account rules guide covers the qualifying conditions, and the HSA accounting treatment resource covers how to book the expense.

Quebec is the exception. For Quebec provincial income tax, employer contributions to a private health services plan are a taxable benefit reported in boxes A and J of the RL-1. The federal treatment is unaffected.

Worked Example: A $1,500 Raise Against a $1,500 HSA Allocation

An Ontario CCPC with eight employees averaging $60,000 in salary wants to give each of them $1,500 more. At $60,000 the combined federal and Ontario marginal rate is 29.65%, employee CPP is 5.95% and employee EI is 1.63%. Employer CPP matches at 5.95% and employer EI runs at 1.4 times the employee rate, or 2.282%, per CRA's 2026 payroll rates. The corporation pays 12.2% on active business income.

| Per employee, per year | $1,500 raise | $1,500 HSA allocation | | --- | --- | --- | | Base cost | $1,500 | $1,500 | | Employer CPP | $89 | $0 | | Employer EI | $34 | $0 | | Administration | $0 | $198 | | Total employer outlay | $1,623 | $1,698 | | After-tax cost at 12.2% | $1,425 | $1,491 | | Employee income tax | $445 | $0 | | Employee CPP and EI | $114 | $0 | | Value in the employee's hands | $942 | $1,500 |

The administration figure assumes NuvioLife's Premium tier: $4 per employee per month plus a 10% claims-administration fee on claims paid.

The employer outlay is close. What the employee receives is not. The raise costs the corporation $1.51 after tax for every dollar that reaches the employee; the HSA costs 99 cents.

Run it the other way and the gap is easier to act on. To put $1,500 of dental or vision care in an employee's hands through salary, the corporation has to gross the raise up to about $2,390, which costs $2,587 with employer payroll taxes and $2,271 after the corporate deduction. The HSA route costs $1,491. That is roughly $780 per employee, or $6,240 across the eight, for identical care received. Our HSA tax savings calculator runs the same arithmetic against your own payroll numbers.

Two honest caveats. A raise is unrestricted cash and an HSA only buys expenses eligible for the Medical Expense Tax Credit under subsection 118.2(2), so the comparison holds only for employees who have medical costs. And the employer pays HSA credits as they are claimed, not up front, which cuts both ways: unclaimed credits cost nothing, but they also deliver nothing. The HSA wallet page covers what the account can and cannot reimburse.

Sole Proprietors Face a Hard Ceiling

None of the above applies cleanly to an unincorporated owner. Section 20.01 of the Income Tax Act lets a self-employed individual deduct PHSP premiums, but caps the deduction at $1,500 per year for the individual, a spouse or common-law partner, and each household member 18 or older, and $750 for each member under 18. The business must be the individual's primary source of income, or their income from other sources must not exceed $10,000.

A second test decides which rule governs. Where the proprietor employs arm's-length staff full time and those employees make up at least 50% of the people covered, the deduction is instead limited to the cost of equivalent coverage for those employees, which can be far more than $1,500. Below that threshold, the dollar caps apply.

CRA has also published a buyer-beware notice about Health Spending Accounts sold to sole proprietors with no arm's-length employees. For those businesses the arrangement is not a PHSP at all and the costs are not deductible, whatever the promoter's brochure says.

Provincial Payroll Taxes Change the Math

Payroll taxes are a provincial layer that salary triggers and health benefits generally do not. Ontario's Employer Health Tax exempts the first $1 million of Ontario payroll for eligible private-sector employers, and the exemption disappears entirely for employers above $5 million in payroll. British Columbia, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, and Quebec each run their own version with different thresholds and rates.

For a company near an EHT threshold, the choice between a payroll increase and a benefit allocation can push the whole payroll across the line. Check your province's definition of remuneration before assuming a benefit sits outside the base.

Where Owners Lose Money

Misclassifying a taxable benefit. The costliest error is treating a taxable benefit as non-taxable. CRA assesses the unreported income to the employee and the unremitted source deductions to the employer, with interest and penalties. Our guide to taxable versus non-taxable benefits sets out which side each common benefit falls on.

Reimbursing ineligible expenses through an HSA. Gym memberships, non-prescription supplements, and cosmetic procedures are outside subsection 118.2(2). Reimburse enough of them and the plan drifts past the "all or substantially all" threshold CRA applies to PHSPs, which puts every reimbursement in the plan at risk.

Running the plan on a handshake. A PHSP is a contractual arrangement. Without written plan terms in place before claims are paid — who is covered, the annual allocation, the plan year, the carry-forward method — there is nothing to show on review.

Letting passive investment income build in the operating company. The $50,000 adjusted aggregate investment income threshold arrives quietly, and the cost of crossing it is a shrinking business limit taxed at the general rate.

FAQ

What is the small business tax rate in Canada?

A Canadian-controlled private corporation claiming the small business deduction pays a federal rate of 9% on active business income up to the $500,000 business limit, against a general federal rate of 15%. Provinces add their own small business rate — 3.2% in Ontario, for a combined 12.2%. Above the business limit, income is taxed at the combined general rate.

Are employee health benefits tax deductible for a small business?

Yes. Employer contributions, premiums, and reimbursements under a private health services plan are deductible business expenses under paragraph 18(1)(a), as are the administration fees to run the plan. The employee side matters just as much: a valid PHSP reimbursement is excluded from employment income under paragraph 6(1)(a) and is not reported on the T4, outside Quebec.

Is a Health Spending Account better than a raise for tax purposes?

For medical spending, yes. A raise is taxed at the employee's marginal rate and attracts CPP and EI on both sides, so roughly 63 cents of each dollar survives at a $60,000 salary. An HSA reimbursement arrives whole and carries no payroll deductions. The tradeoff is that HSA credits only pay for expenses eligible for the Medical Expense Tax Credit.

How much can a sole proprietor deduct for health coverage?

Section 20.01 caps the deduction at $1,500 a year for the individual, a spouse or common-law partner, and each household member 18 or older, plus $750 for each member under 18. The business must be the primary source of income. Where arm's-length full-time employees make up at least half the people covered, the limit becomes the cost of equivalent coverage for those employees.

Do HSA reimbursements attract CPP and EI?

No. Reimbursements under a valid private health services plan are neither pensionable nor insurable earnings, so neither the employer nor the employee pays CPP or EI on them. That is worth 5.95% plus 2.282% on the employer side and 5.95% plus 1.63% on the employee side compared with the same amount paid as salary.


The four levers are not equally useful. Capital cost allowance and SR&ED change when a deduction lands, and the small business deduction is mostly a matter of staying under thresholds you do not control. Compensation design is the one an owner can change this quarter, and the one where two options costing the corporation nearly the same land very differently on the employee. Confirm your own numbers with your accountant, then look at where your benefits spending is going.

Share this post

Keep reading
Get started

Ready to modernize your team's benefits?

Set up your NuvioLife plan in about 15 minutes. No renewals, no insurer markups, no surprises.

  • No credit card required

  • 14-Day free trial